A Separate Skirt

Since I’ve been so bissy this last month I knew I was not going to make the deadline for the HSF challenge 16 – Seperates.

But now (a month late) the entry are finaly done and photographed.

I knew that this challenge needed to be something quite simple, since I was running so late. So I decided to make a skirt. The period and style was inspired by and meant to go with the ongoing challenge 17s garment (which I will tell you more about next time).

So my 16th entry is a 1750s handsewn skirt made to fit over smal pocket hops.

IMG_1583

The fabric is a polyester satin in a golden/brown colour that will match several different dresses and social classes.

IMG_1526

The construction are simply two lenghts of fabric sewn togheter and pleated at the waist.

IMG_1532

IMG_1527

The skirt ties to the waist by separate front and back pieces, to make it fit more bodysizes.

IMG_1522

IMG_1524

Just the facts:

Challenge 16: Separates

What: A 18th century skirt.

Year: 1740-1780.

Pattern: None, but studied the petticoat from “Patterns of Fashion 1”

Fabric: 3m golden/brown polyster satin

Notions: Thread and 2m cotton ribbon

How historical accurate: Pretty good (exept for the polyester content). Totaly hand sewn with period stitching and cutting methods. So mabye 70%.

Time: 5 hours.

Cost: 300 Sek (33USD)

First worn: On the photoshoot mid sep1

***

A few days later I found a beautiful flowery cotton fabric on sale at my fabric store, and bought the whole lot.

It was’nt untill I got home and putt it on the table next to my skirt fabric I realized that they looks like they are made to be togheter. Im already dreaming of several wounderful dresses to go with the skirt.

IMG_1555

Leave a Reply

