Steampunk accessories

I’ve been chipping away at lots of different costuming stuff lately.
But the things most outside my usual sewing zone, are the pieces I’ve made for my up-coming steampunk outfit.

IMG_7059A clock I bought on sale this spring.

 I’ve been loking through lots and lots of pictures on the internet and there are som much incredable talent out there. I can only wish to somedsay be able to create something as beautiful.

Anyhow, here are the items I did make for this costume.

I had this cheap bag who I wanted to turn into something steampunkish.IMG_7058

Using this inspirational picture I got to work.steampunk_bag_by_krammelnira-d5qazu1

IMG_0111Gatering my materials.

Since I didn’t had any leater in my stsh I decided to paint the wheel on my bag using golden craft-paint.IMG_0113Then I glued some gears on it using my regualar fabric glue.

Finished:IMG_0127

IMG_0134

IMG_0132

IMG_0131

IMG_0129

***

My next project was to get that super cool looking steampunk gun.steampunk_nerf_gun_by_fencesmakegoodnebors-d324it0No, not this one – this is my inspiration.

Following some tips on the internet I had bought a cheap water gun. IMG_7056The materials used.

I started by sanding the intire gun down.
IMG_0106 IMG_0107after.

Then I sprayed it with copper craft paint, making sure it was compleatly covered.IMG_0109Letting it dry over night.

Then I painted it with my gold, silver and brown paint, and glued on some gears to make it even more steampunk looking.

IMG_0125

Finished:IMG_0138

IMG_0135

IMG_0139

IMG_0140

IMG_0137

 

Well, not perfect, but two quick, simple project that will do a lot to enhance the look of my outfit.

2 thoughts on “Steampunk accessories

  1. To help with the look of your gun you can try some dry brush painting tecnique, you can find a large number of tutorials on youtube. Good job with the bag!

Leave a Reply

