18th century mourning

This last month there’s been a lots of focus on historical mourning among the blog community.
I think it is safe to say the two main reasons are the “Death becomes her” exhibition from The Mets, and Halloween.

My reason for this post are definitely Halloween.

A few months ago I was invited to a 18th century Halloween party taking place mid November, and called for 18th century mourning wear. And since I didn’t own anything suitable I decided to make something.

Here are the 18th century mourning/half mourning/black dresses that I found circling the internet.

ec826006cc6f4d9f289aceb6de6f26a5I think I’ve read some wear that this is Marie Antoinettes mother Maria Theresa – is that right?

tumblr_inline_n716t4A1SA1sy8idt

Suknia (1)

image

images

augustin_vêtue d'un costume de deuil_1792

hämta (3)

1b255cb290837284bd02ffdcb7a97793

mourningprint

mourning dress

f4eca66f91aeb3da48a6fe9617e34408

mourning1759

images (2)

Digital Capture

images (1)

masque5_zps6fd53589

I should probably mention that I never had the time to make the mourning gown I wanted, but I did attend the Party (wearing an old gown), which I will tell you about in my next post.

Leave a Reply

