Shoes on a Bargain

I follow quite a few historic groups on facebook, including a great “Buy and sell group” for people living in Sweden.

About two weeks ago I found the best ad ever.

A pair of American duchess black “Kensington” in my size, for about half what it would have cost me o order them over seas.
They even came with “Valois” shoe buckles.
IMG_5584

I’ve been dreaming of adding a pair of these to my growing historical wardrobe. So I hurried and snatched them up.

A few days later they arrived.

20150221_11231220150221_112321Looking so pure and perfect.

So, last week (while preparing for my “Redingote photoshoot“) I got ready to attach the buckles using the tutorial from AD-homepage.

AD-valois-shoe-bucklesPic from American Duchess site.

Using a small awl to make wholes in the tongue for the buckle. 20150221_112254

I had a bit trouble to get the buckle to sit nicely without making the tongue pucker.20150221_112113

Since I didn’t wanted to put to much pressure on my new shoes I practiced on my well used white 18th century shoes.
20150221_11150920150221_111639
Yay, it worked (with some mild force and determination).

IMG_5723I’m so happy with my new shoes, and love them to death.

Leave a Reply

