So many Wigs

For some time now I’ve been working on getting a few wigs, to go with all the various styles of costumes that I do. And since I cant afford real and goodness I just got the cheapest ones there is, in order to style them into perfectly historical headwear I will be proud to wear upon my head.IMG_5409

Lets take a look at what I got, and what I plan to do about them.

 “Saloon Girl”IMG_1811Ehm, yeah, right…

I bought this wig for the color, curls and consistent (no, not really).
But I wanted a curly redhead wig to make a awesome “pouf” or “hedgehog” for my 18th century costumes.

IMG_1812 IMG_1814
Unfortunately the curls are to heavy, and don’t stay put at all.
At the moment it is better suited for a “Greek” styled Regency do then nothing else. But hey I may need one of those to.IMG_2338Quick Regency up-do

“Renaissance”IMG_1810The go to wig for all redhead maid Marions out there ( oh I hope not)

“This wig will be perfect for almost any era and hairdo”  was what I was thinking buying it.IMG_1816 IMG_1820
“This wig have both a sharp part and an awful bang. There is No Way you are going to turn that into something beautiful – let it be!” Is what I should have thought.

I may just use it for hairpieces and rats…

IMG_1823Color scheme: (left to right) “Saloon girl”, “Mermaid” and “Renaissance”

“Marie Antoinette”151656241_1If you say so…

 My first attempt at taming this wig was about two year ago (result).
I also modified it a few times since then, and it do look better, but I think I will never be totally happy with it.

My second try will be now, and this time in white (oh so white).
IMG_5439 IMG_5440
After re-reading “The American Duchess” tutorial on how she transformed this style to a beautiful 18th century “pouf”, I decided I needed to give it another go.

I really hope I can do what she did, because this plastic monster definitely need some work to look presentable.
And what were they thinking when they used a whole glue gun to the locks? IMG_5442“The glue really makes my hair shine…”

“Greek Goddess”IMG_5417This actually look pretty decent.

I bought this wig thinking it could fit both Regency and 1880s hair.
The wig is heavy, and the curls seems to be holding up well. Lets just hope I can do something about the curve at the hairline and the small tendrils they call a bang.
IMG_5418 IMG_5419
IMG_5420

I mean look at this – plainly false marketingIMG_5423 IMG_5422

“Amy Winehouse”IMG_5424Baboom!

This wig is so cool.

Ok, the styling is awful, and don’t even get me started on the blond piece in the bangs.
But it is shaped like a “bee-hive”, and have lots of long lose hair in the back…
lets say it together – Perfect for “Pouf”!
IMG_5425 IMG_5426
IMG_5427

And you can even carry stuff in it.IMG_5429

“Ghostly Saloon girl”IMG_5430Who comes up with these names?

It’s gray, it’s styled upwards and have some ringlets hanging down – Therefor it should be perfect for 18th century styles.
IMG_5431 IMG_5433

But sadly the polyester ribbon hides a terrible secret – a huge edge, where the top is attached to the bottom of the wig. I’m not sure how I can get round/past that.IMG_5437

“Clown pop wig”IMG_5411 No, I’m not seriously thinking this will work for historical costuming.

I’ve had another event in mind…
(If you’r from Sweden, and like 18th century, but are just a tad annoyed about all the bullshit “historical” costumes out there, I think you know to what I’m referring to. And if you don’t – check it out here: Plastiq fantastiq pique nique)

IMG_5415 IMG_5416
I have big planes on turning this baby into some awesome 18th century style, you just wait and see. wait and see…

Do you have any favorite cheap wigs or good tutorial to help me style these monsters?

One thought on “So many Wigs

  1. As far as cheap wigs, I don’t know of any. I just go to the beauty supply store and get extensions, but as far as my favorite wig stores, there’s ARDA Wigs. They have wigs of every color and style.

Leave a Reply

