2 years celebration! (with gift lottery)

Today my blog turns 2 years!

museo-carmen-thyssen

It seams just yesterday I wrote my 1 years post, time flies when you’r up to something fun, as we say here in Sweden.

And as always much has happened, both on the blog and in my personal life.

This past year I’ve:
Got an promotion at work (still as a temp, but hopefully not for much longer), in which I’ve learnt to plan big parties, host huge festivals, juggle a budget and a lot more.
I’ve Moved to a bigger apartment together my boyfriend (ok, not exactly within this year but anyway), with who I’m soon to celebrate 10 years!
Seen my very first (and probably last) movie, in which I worked as costume designer, premiere.
And got a little nice to adore an dot on.

And sewing wise:
I’ve learnt how to make baby clothes.
Started buying and using period correct patterns, and are now totally hooked on the fast and easy way to sew.
I’ve begun teaching a sewing class focusing on historical clothing.
I’ve started attend Historical gathering on my own – without a supportive friend to hold my hand.
Planed and are soon to host my very first Historical event.
And of course developed a lot as a seamstress and hobbyist costumer.

I also started a facebook-page for my blog (www.facebook.com/blog.fashionthroughhistory)

And of course the year have also brought some though times (which you get a glimpse of in my last post – “The myth of perfection”), but over all it’s been great.

My blog and facebook statistic and followers are constantly growing, and I want to thank you all who take your time to read and comment on my posts and pics. Without you, this blog would not exist.

As for today I also celebrate 250 blogg followers, and 160 facebook followers. Yay!

So, in celebration of all my lovely followers and my two years of blogging I wanted to do a little lottery.
I had one about a year ago, when I reached 100 followers, and this one will be similar.

The rules:

All you need to do to participate is writing me a comment and answering these two questions:

* What kind of posts do you like the best on this blog? (Inspiration posts, Photoshoot posts, dress diary’s or random rant ect.)

* What topic/theme would you like me to post about more (or to browse for the first time)?

Please also write your name (or nickname) so I can announce you if you win.

You got 7 days to do so, then on the evening of May 19 (Swedish time) I will draw one name at random from a bowl and announce the winner here on the blog and facebook.
(I will then contact the winner to get the shipping info and adress.)

The price:

Past Patterns nr 708 – mid 19th century stays (1840-1870s)IMG_6476The pattern is brand new and multi-sized and will hopefully fit almost everyone (with the mandatory changes of the mock-up of course).

I have still to make a corset from this pattern, but what I’ve seen from others making it, it seems pretty straight forward once you mastered the gussets.

Good luck!

15 thoughts on “2 years celebration! (with gift lottery)

  1. Congratulations on blogging for two years! I love reading your blog. My favourite kind of posts are photo shoots and dress diaries. I love seeing a dress or whatever the garment is from the inspiration to the finished item. It’s very inspiring and helpful. I love your posts and don’t really have any idea of what I would like to more of. I like that your quite a frequent poster. I am someone who likes getting their historical sewing fix. Anyway I need to stop rambling so… Congrats again! XxxNiamh

  2. I like the photo shoots and dress diaries. I enjoy seeing you move more and more into historical accuracy. Reports from events are also fun – I live vicariously through others, as I have difficulty in participating much at the moment 😉
    I don’t know what I’d like to see more of, I think there’s a good balance as it is…
    I’m impressed that you manage to post so often – just make sure you don’t run into a wall 🙂

  3. Congratulations on 2 years and the large following you have!
    My favourite types of posts are those that show from inspiration through to completion, a bit like what you did on the Lady Mary dress.
    For the future, I’d love to see more of that sort of thing.
    I’m Rachelle, but usually Sewsable on line.

  4. Congratulations!

    What I like the most about this blog is the dress diary posts. I love when you show all the steps on the way to a completed garment. In the future I would love to continue reading about that, but maybe also some on how you pick the fabrics that you use, which fabrics are most suited for certain projects.

    Johanna/Costumekullan

  5. Congrats! Also, when I first read through I thought you said you saw your first movie (not your first movie premiere) and was shocked haha.
    I like the photoshoot posts the most, with dress diaries a close second (I love learning from how other people have approached a garment, what went right and wrong, etc.)
    I’d love to see more Victorian, because there’s so much regency and 18th century going around in my area that it’s always lovely to see other periods. =)

  6. Yay 2 years! I’ve only been following for a few months but love reading back! To answer the questions 1) I love the dress diary posts because I also sew but more historically inspired rather than replications. I love to see the inspiration and your interpretation. 2) I love posts on period techniques, whether stitches or fitting or just general period ways of doing things.

  7. I’ve really enjoyed your blog; I think my favorite posts are the photoshoot posts, and also hearing about your process. I loved reading the myth of perfection post…I almost cannot go to an event without a breakdown in my clothing of some kind….
    I would love to hear more on some of the research you put in ahead of time, and where you get some of the ideas as you plan what to do next.
    Michaela, AKA cowgirlmichaela

  8. I agree with some of the other commenters. I love seeing the entire process of making a garment, from inspiration to final photoshoot. I also love your posts about the Swedish National costume. It is nice to be able to learn about Sweden and it’s traditional costume through your blog. I love your blog and always look forward to what you are going to do next. Good luck on your next two years!

  9. Grattis till två år!

    Alltså tycker ju om allt du skriver om haha! Men gillar speciellt inläggen där du visar processen grundligt, från inspirationsbilder till färdig grej! Gärna flera inlägg om samma plagg som du gjorde på Maryklänningen. 🙂 Sen är det kul att få tjuvkika lite i nya böcker du köpt, och självklart photoshoots på dom färdiga kläderna!

    Hmm.. skulle vara kul att se fler bilder på äldre saker du sytt i kombination med nya!

  10. Hi, I enjoy seeing the historical costuming scene in Sweden, so as well as your posts about making and wearing the clothes, I like seeing what sorts of events you go to. I would be interested in reading more about the uniquely Swedish aspects of your costuming, although of course you might not have non-Swedish aspects to compare to! Except what you see on other blogs I suppose. I enjoy that your posts have some variety within a theme and it is interesting to see bits of your life as well, that you are happy to share. I’m Knotrune in case I win 🙂
    Tusen takk!

  11. Thank you all so very much!
    I found it wonderful t read all your encouragement and well wishes.
    I also learnt a great deal of what you all like to read about on the blog, and got some great tips for the future.
    I’m blessed to have such nice and loving readers.
    Love
    /Åsa

Leave a Reply

